The awards aim to recognize the best investigative stories published in 2015. Seven separate award calls have been published in each of the countries where the contest is organised: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Turkey. The contest is open in each country for three weeks. The award ceremonies are expected in each country in May 2016.

The EU awards have been launched by the European Commission, DG Neighbourhood and Enlargement, and come as a strong recognition of the commitment to ensure freedom of expression in the media and to support investigative journalism in the countries aspiring to EU accession. The Award is administered by a regional partnership coordinated by Peace Institute, Ljubljana and including the following partner organisations:

For further information, see SEE Media Observatory dedicated page

Tags: Investigative journalism
Short title: EU Investigative Journalism Awards in the Western Balkans and Turkey
Deadline: 31/03/2016 10:00 pm